General Aviation Awards Seeks Industry Support

A new GoFundMe campaign allows maintenance professionals to support the General Aviation Awards Program. For more than 60 years, the GA Awards have recognized flight instructors, aviation maintenance technicians, and other safety professionals for their contributions to general aviation. Individuals may donate any amount through the new fundraising opportunity.

The General Aviation Awards Program is a non-profit corporation; its board members, judges, and volunteers serve without compensation. Donations from industry organizations alone do not cover annual costs, which include travel, lodging, the Awards luncheon and ceremonies, plaques, and gifts for the national Honorees. The program is asking for individual support for its 2024 award ceremony at AirVenture. Sponsors receive publicity through press releases, our website, the annual GAALive! broadcast featuring the Honorees, and exposure via the FAA to 400,000+ pilots.

To donate, click here to go to the GoFundMe page.

Send questions about the fundraiser to Chairman Sandya Narayanswami.

About the Awards

The selection process begins with each of 80 FAA Flight Standards District Offices selecting district-level winners in each of the three categories. These winners then go to FAA regional offices where regional winners are selected. The regional winners are then reviewed by a panel of distinguished industry judges in each category, who select the three national winners.

National winners receive a trip to EAA AirVenture in Oshkosh in July, where they are recognized by the FAA Administrator and other high-ranking FAA officials, have their names added to the large plaque in the EAA Museum, and are fêted at an awards luncheon where they receive gifts donated by GAA’s industry sponsors.

Recipients of the 2024 National General Aviation Awards are:

Adam Magee—2024 Certificated Flight Instructor of the Year
Marty King—2024 Aviation Technician of the Year
Cary Grant—2024 FAA Safety Team Representative of the Year

Click here to see the press release announcing this year’s awards.

More from ARSA

Repairman History Points ARAC to Certificate’s Future

On June 13, the FAA Aviation Rulemaking Advisory Committee (ARAC) received the final report of its Repairman Certificate Portability Working Group. The report includes thorough regulatory analysis in response to…Read More

Respond: EASA Survey on Parts Documentation Proposal

ARSA encourages members with EASA approval to respond to the agency’s survey regarding a proposal addressing problematic parts documentation requirements. According to EASA– The proposal would be to establish exceptions…Read More

Keep Responding – The Name Game

This “quick question” is updated based on responses each week – suggestions are added and under-performing options dropped – so respondents are invited to submit again considering new options. The…Read More

Hotline Highlight – Crawfish with Charlie

The hotline – ARSA’s premier member newsletter – contains news, editorial content, analysis and resources for the aviation maintenance community. All members should ensure they receive their edition the first…Read More

A Young Farmer’s Wisdom – 2024 Scholarship Winner Brian Hill

Meet ARSA’s 2024 Scholarship winner Brian Hill of Pittsburgh Institute of Aeronautics. Hill is a third generation farmer whose hands-on learning began with his first chore assignments at age six…Read More